jens.hatlak.de / About me    
Atari   Mozilla / Mozilla dualboot  
Dreamweaver Manual     Building Mozilla  
Acronyms     Installing Mozilla  
    Bookmark Indicator  
Diese Seite in deutsch Diese Seite
in deutsch
    Custom Buttons  
  MailNews Status Icons  

Mozilla

Surfing Made Fun and Web Development Made Easy

Mozilla logo It all began at the end of the last millennium, when the first executable version of a certain browser appeared on the net which had its seeds in the plan to let go the old Netscape 4.x sources and restart at zero. A wise decision.
I do not know exactly since when I am a part of it but I guess it was around M16 (about the middle of 2000). At that time, the Mozilla releases were called milestones and named accordingly. Some time later, 0.6 released which Netscape based their version 6 upon. Even then the Mozilla developers knew why they prefixed the version number with a zero, but Netscape seemed not to care. Correspondingly crushing were the reviews of the commercial spin-off, and certain sites like MozillaQuest received a boost only because of that.

Well, today it looks different. We are writing a one in front of the point and can decide freely: suite or slim single application? Just as you like.

What is So Great About Mozilla? - My Top 10

  1. Outstanding web development tools: JavaScript Debugger, DOM Inspector
  2. Not as vulnerable to viruses & co. as IE/Outlook
  3. Free of charge, yet powerful.
  4. Tabbed browsing. OK, Opera was first, but MultiZilla is better! *g*
  5. Find As You Type, popup blocking
  6. Extensibility (XPIs, extension community -> MozDev), adaptability (many configuration options) and feature richness
  7. Standards. Whether it may be the W3C or RFCs or... Everywhere. Consequently. And cross platform.
  8. Open Source nature: release often, release many (nightlies, CVS); open, top-organized bug handling (Bugzilla); independent and worldwide / uniting :-)
  9. Themes (open as well: anyone can make own or modify existing ones)
  10. All in one, wherever you are. At home, at university, ...
    If you do not agree here you might want to try Firefox & co. ;-)

The Suite: Tools Included

Mozilla offers some really neat tools for web developers, out of the box. With extensions you can furthermore upgrade what the suite does not offer itself (all the more with the single applications).

JavaScript Console

With this tool, you will instantly see whether an extension (see below) is broken or something is not working the way it should do (remember: extensions are a mix of XUL, CSS, RDF and JavaScript). Often you can also help the respective author by sending the relevant output. But even if you are experimenting with JavaScript yourself the tool will be of great help to you: Here you will find any error messages like undefined or nonexistent variables and objects, syntax errors and so on. In combination with the other tools, you will mostly be able to narrow down the cause of the error in no time.

DOM Inspector

First of all, we should clarify what is actually meant by the DOM: A representation of the structure of a document, may it be XML based like RDF or XHTML or pure HTML. The DOM Inspector displays this structure in the form of a tree (DOM tree), just like the Windows Explorer does for the file system, for example.

By default the DOM Inspector shows DOM nodes (nodes within the tree, ultimately elements), on the left the ones of the document currently displayed and on the right the data of the element selected on the left.

Using "File/Inspect a Window" you can select a window in order to further inspect it (side note: you can as well select the DOM Inspector itself, of course!). This way, however, you can only access the window, i.e. the chrome/XUL. Whereas if you want to inspect the page viewed inside a window, you will have to specify its URL. Here you can take advantage of MultiZilla (see below) which offers a button that loads the very page currently displayed into the DOM Inspector. In addition, you can let the document specified show in the so-called browser which will appear at the bottom if you select "View/Browser".

If you finally selected a document you can start: With an HTML document, you will find the <HTML> tag directly under the document root (#document). If you however select for example the <BODY> tag you should see a blinking border around the whole document for a short period of time — this feature can be very useful because it also works the other way round, allowing you to click elements within the document using the icon in the upper left (the one with the little arrow), making them blink and be selected in the DOM tree.

Furthermore, both on the left and on the right there are little switch buttons which have the form of a stylized list. If you for example switch to "JavaScript Object" you will find all properties of the object under target. This is a good way to find style properties or available functions and even execute little tests (richt click, "Evaluate JavaScript..."). If you switch to "Computed Style", you can watch the CSS properties of the element that is actually in the document, i.e. including all Mozilla-specific details. Accordingly, you can see under "CSS Style Rules" which style rules from which files (those beginning with resource://gre are internal ones) apply to an element.

JavaScript Debugger (Venkman)

Probably the most powerful tool at all. Maybe you are already accustomed to being able to use the debugger from "real" programming languages and corresponding IDEs. With Internet Explorer or other browsers alone you don not have that for JavaScript, but with Mozilla you do. The basic handling consists of a few steps:

  1. Click the red X — three dots appear.
  2. Reload the page to be debugged or switch to the "Open Windows" tab and apply "Set as Evaluation Object" to the window/tab with the scripts to be debugged
  3. Use "Step over" until the browser window gets usable again
  4. Do what you want to debug (e.g. fire events)
  5. Set (future) breakpoints (first column in the Source Code window: directly in front of the line numbers) and restart the script
  6. Now you can watch local variables, set own watches, ...

See also:

Find As You Type (f.k.a. Type Ahead Find)

Described quickly but much more valuable: By simple typing you can search every document (even source code). By default, links are searched for only; if you however start the search with a slash (/), the whole text is searched. The default behavior can be changed at "Edit/Preferences/Advanced/Keyboard Navigation".

Selection Source

Explaining the View Selection Source functionality is just as easy as Find As You Type. Just select a range within the current document and choose "View Selection Source" in the context menu.

You should however know that Selection Source works based upon the DOM Mozilla generates internally after parsing the source code and not, like the normal View Source, based upon the actual source code of the page.

Extensions

Mozilla already includes neat features out of the box, but what makes it real fun are extensions in form of so called XPIs, cross platform installation archives.
Talking of extensions for Mozilla, one site has to be mentioned in the same breath: MozDev.

I copied the images shown at the side of the following extensions from the respective MozDev project pages; the rights remain with the respective copyright holders, of course.

MultiZilla

MultiZilla with OSXZilla
theme

If you never heard of MultiZilla, you missed something for sure. MultiZilla was the first tabbed browsing extension for the Mozilla suite and probably the best until now. Mozilla itself copied much of it but never all of it (see below). I myself have been using it since version 1.2.x, I think, and been a loyal fan ever since. Lead developer HJ (funny coincidence: my initials, just the other way round!) is working hard, making MultiZilla one of the most active MozDev projects so far.

For each possible action you can separately define whether it should be executed in a new tab/window or not. Beyond that there is much which makes working pleasenter: Tabs already closed can be reopened, existing ones can be exported to new windows or reloaded automatically after an adjustable amount of time. Whole tab sessions can be saved and restored. Permissions like JavaScript, images, plugins, ... can be set individually for each tab. Tabs can be activated automatically, again after an adjustable amount of time, by simply hovering over it with the mouse. Colored icons on the tabs optionally show the loading state of the page. The middle mouse button can be configured for closing or reopening tabs and of course for opening links in new tabs, loading in the background if desired.

The buttons not only of the MultiZilla toolbar itself but also of Mozilla can be (de)activated individually. The bookmarks menus can be equipped with additional options like opening whole folders in new tabs without them being groupmarks. Even deleting sensitive data upon quitting is possible. All windows opened with JavaScript can be redirected into tabs. An icon can be displayed on the respective tab when popups are blocked.

In addition, the integrated QuickPrefs menu allows for quick access to preferences like cookies, images, popups, JavaScript, browser and referrer spoofing, cache and proxy settings and sensitive data. Furthermore, all extensions installed can be de(activated) individually.

Googlebox

Googlebox

The Google Toolbar is to Internet Explorer what the Googlebox is to MultiZilla. Embedded in the MultiZilla toolbar, you can also directky use the other Google searches like the one for images or news. The buttons created for the search results are especially useful since they allow for directly searching for them in the respective documents.

MozBlog

MozBlog

Blogging is fun! I have a weblog as well. With MozBlog, you can even blog directly out of Mozilla. It does not only support Blogger but also other popular weblog services like Movable Type.

Download Status Bar

Download Status Bar

Honestly, Mozilla's download manager is better than these nerving single download windows, yet still bothering if you want to download many small things like images. That is where the Download Status Bar produces relief: After deactivating the display of the download manager, further downloads will only appear at the bottom of the window — properly lined up and with nice context menus.

Web Developer Toolbar

Web Developer
Toolbar

Everything the web developer needs: Deactivating and bordering parts of the document like styles, images, form elements, tables, ..., showing information, validation possibilities, resizing and many more.

MozEx

How often do you painfully miss the functionality of your favorite editor (for me this is SciTE). That does not have to be with Mozilla: With MozEx you can define your own editors for certain links, textareas or the source code view. You can also setup other programs, for example for downloads, news, mail or telnet, ... and even define your own schemes like myscheme://.

Live HTTP Headers

An essential web development tool. Actually so important that it should be part of the suite by default: With this extensions you can listen to and log the HTTP communication between client (Mozilla) and server. This way you will quickly see if for example the wrong MIME type or which additional HTTP headers have been sent (especially of interest in connection with skripting languages like PHP and redirects).

XUL Console

Just a small helper tool for plagued XUL friends: With this you can easily modify the extracted content of a JAR from an XPI and directly see the result. The search for errors is quite significantly simplified; especially since Mozilla's chrome is directly accessible.

AdBlock

The advertisement blocker par excellence. Adblock does for the rest what Mozilla itself does for popups. Whether it be a plain image, IFRAME or Flash: By specifying wildcards in the image and IFRAME addresses you can block whole servers and subdirectories. Simple, yet effective: right click, "AdBlock xy" and quickly shortening the address — and the whole shebang is gone.

mozTrayBiff (f.k.a. Mozilla Free Desktop Integration)

mozTrayBiff

Ilya achieved with his project what the Mozilla project has not accomplished itself in many years (and even after a long time for Windows): A tray icon for new mails (biff). And not only for KDE but also for XFce and IceWM. Small restriction: Mozilla has to use the GTK 2 toolkit, which is not (yet) the case with normal nightlies from mozilla.org. By the way, that was the major reason for me to switch the toolkit for building Mozilla. ;-)

CuteMenus

CuteMenus

What should I say? Colored icons everywhere!

Session Saver

MultiZilla can save tab sessions as well. But crash recovery...

Other extensions:

Currently broken with regard to suite nightlies:

Old extensions, unfortunately not tended any more:

Status unknown:

Links

 

Valid HTML 4.0!
Jens Hatlak
April 25, 2005

jens.hatlak.de / Über mich    
Atari   PHP    
Dreamweaver Manual   Linux    
Akronyme   Mozilla / Mozilla Dualboot  
  SciTE   Mozilla bauen  
This page in English This page
in English
  FASTA-Parser   Mozilla installieren  
Ich spreche...   Bookmark Indicator  
    Custom Buttons  
    MailNews Status Icons  

Do you prefer reading pages in English? This page is also available in English.

Mozilla

Wie Surfen Spaß macht und Web-Entwicklung leicht fällt

Mozilla Logo Es begann gegen Ende des letzten Jahrtausends, als im Netz erste lauffähige Versionen eines gewissen Browsers auftauchten, der seinen Ursprung in dem Vorhaben hatte, die alten Netscape 4.x-Quellen ad acta zu legen und bei Null zu beginnen. Eine weise Entscheidung.
Ich weiß nicht mehr genau, seit wann ich dabei bin, aber es wird wohl etwa M16 gewesen sein (etwa Mitte 2000). Damals hießen die Mozilla-Releases noch Milestones und wurden entsprechend benannt. Irgendwann kam dann 0.6, worauf Netscape ihre Version 6 gründeten. Die Mozilla-Entwickler wussten schon damals, warum sie eine Null vor die Versionsnummer schrieben, aber Netscape schien das nicht zu interessieren. Entsprechend schlecht fielen die Bewertungen des kommerziellen Ablegers aus, und auch gewisse Seiten wie MozillaQuest bekamen dadurch erst richtig Auftrieb.

Nun, heute sieht es anders aus. Wir schreiben eine Eins vor dem Komma und können frei entscheiden: Suite oder schlanke Einzelapplikation? Jeder, wie er mag.

Was ist so toll an Mozilla? - Meine Top 10

  1. Überragende Web-Entwicklungstools: JavaScript Debugger, DOM Inspector
  2. Nicht so anfällig für Viren & Co. wie IE/Outlook
  3. Kostenlos und doch mächtig.
  4. Tabbed Browsing. OK, Opera war zuerst, aber MultiZilla ist besser! *g*
  5. Find As You Type, Popup Blocking
  6. Erweiterbarkeit (XPIs, Extension-Community -> MozDev), Anpassbarkeit (viele Einstellungsmöglichkeiten) und Feature-Reichtum
  7. Standards. Egal ob vom W3C oder RFCs oder... Überall. Und konsequent. Und Plattform-übergreifend.
  8. Open Source-Natur: Release often, release many (Nightlies, CVS); offenes, top-organisiertes Bug-Handling (Bugzilla); unabhängig und weltumspannend / -vereinend :-)
  9. Themes (auch offen: jeder kann eigene machen oder bestehende modifizieren)
  10. Alles in einem, egal wo man ist. Zuhause, in der Uni, ...
    Wer mir hier nicht zustimmt, soll Firefox & Co. nehmen ;-)

Die Suite: Tools inbegriffen

Für Web-Entwickler bietet Mozilla einige besonders nette Werkzeuge, und das schon von Hause aus. Mit Erweiterungen kann man darüber hinaus nachrüsten, was die Suite nicht direkt anbietet (umso mehr bei den Einzelapplikationen).

JavaScript Console

Mit diesem Werkzeug sieht man sofort, wenn eine Extension (s.u.) kaputt ist oder in bestimmten Situationen etwas nicht so tut wie es sollte (zur Erinnerung: Extensions sind ein Mix aus XUL, CSS, RDF und JavaScript). Auch kann man dem jeweiligen Autor meist weiterhelfen, indem man ihm die relevanten Ausgaben schickt. Aber auch bei eigenen JavaScript-Experimenten hilft das Tool ungemein: Hier erscheinen alle Fehlermeldungen wie nicht deklarierte oder existierende Variablen und Objekte, Syntaxfehler usw. In Kombination mit den anderen Tools hat man so die Fehlerursache meist sehr schnell eingegrenzt.

DOM Inspector

Zunächst einmal sollte geklärt werden, was das DOM eigentlich ist: Eine Repräsentation der Struktur eines Dokuments, sei es nun XML-basiert wie RDF oder XHTML oder reines HTML. Der DOM Inspector zeigt diese Struktur in Form eines Baumes (DOM Tree) an, ähnlich wie es etwa der Windows Explorer für das Dateisystem macht.

In der Standardeinstellung zeigt der DOM Inspector DOM Nodes (Knoten im Baum, letztlich Elemente) an, auf der linken Seite die des betrachteten Dokuments und auf der rechten die Daten des links ausgewählten Elements.

Über "File/Inspect a Window" kann man ein Fenster auswählen um es dann genauer zu untersuchen (kleiner Gag am Rande: man kann natürlich auch den DOM Inspector selbst auswählen!). Auf diese Weise kommt man aber nur an das Fenster heran, also das Chrome/XUL. Will man hingegen die in einem Fenster angezeigte Seite begutachten, muss man deren URL angeben. Hier hilft MultiZilla (s.u.), das einen Button anbietet, der genau die gerade angezeigte Seite in den DOM Inspector lädt. Ansonsten kann man sich angegebene Dokumente im sog. Browser anzeigen lassen, der am unteren Rand erscheint, wenn man "View/Browser" wählt.

Hat man dann ein passendes Dokument ausgewählt, kann es losgehen: Bei einem HTML-Dokument hängt unter der Dokumenten-Wurzel (document root, #document) zuerst einmal das <HTML>-Tag. Wählt man nun aber z.B. das <BODY>-Tag, sollte kurz ein Rahmen um das gesamte Dokument herum blinken — diese Funktion kann sehr nützlich sein, denn auch anders herum kann man mit dem Icon links oben (das mit dem kleinen Pfeil) Elemente im Dokument anklicken, wobei sie dann blinken und im DOM Tree selektiert werden.

Sowohl links als auch rechts gibt es noch einen kleinen Umschaltbutton in Form einer stilisierten Liste. Wechselt man damit z.B. auf "JavaScript Object", findet man unter target alle Eigenschaften des Objektes. Auf diese Weise kann man z.B. prima die style-Eigenschaften oder verfügbare Funktionen finden und auch direkt kleine Tests durchführen (Rechtsklick, "Evaluate JavaScript..."). Wechselt man dagegen auf "Computed Style", kann man sich die CSS-Eigenschaften des tatsächlich erzeugten Elements anschauen, also inklusive aller Mozilla-spezifischen Details. Entsprechend sieht man unter "CSS Style Rules", welche Style-Regeln aus welchen Dateien (mit resource://gre beginnende sind interne) für ein Element zur Anwendung kommen.

JavaScript Debugger (Venkman)

Das wohl mächtigste Werkzeug überhaupt. Von "echten" Programmiersprachen und entsprechenden IDEs her ist man es gewohnt, den Debugger benutzen zu können. Allein mit dem Internet Explorer oder anderen Browsern hat man das für JavaScript nicht, wohl aber mit Mozilla. Die grundsätzliche Bedienung erfolgt in wenigen Schritten:

  1. Das rote X anklicken — drei Punkte erscheinen.
  2. Die zu debuggende Seite neu laden oder zum "Open Windows" Tab wechseln und "Set as Evaluation Object" auf das Fenster/Tab mit den zu debuggenden Scripts anwenden
  3. So lange "Step over" benutzen, bis das Browserfenster wieder benutzbar wird
  4. Das tun, was man debuggen will (z.B. Events auslösen)
  5. (Zukünftige) Breakpoints setzen (erste Spalte im Source Code-Fenster: direkt vor den Zeilennummern) und das Skript neu starten
  6. Nun kann man lokale Variablen beobachten, eigene Watches setzen, ...

Siehe hierzu auch:

Find As You Type (f.k.a. Type Ahead Find)

Schnell beschrieben, aber ungleich wertvoller: Durch bloßes Eintippen kann man in jedem Dokument (auch Quelltext) suchen. Standardmäßig wird nur nach Links gesucht; leitet man jedoch die Suche mit einem Slash (/) ein, wird im ganzen Text gesucht. Das Standardverhalten kann man über "Edit/Preferences/Advanced/Keyboard Navigation" ändern.

Selection Source

Genauso einfach erklärt wie das Suchen durch Eintippen ist die Anzeige des Quelltextes der aktuellen Seite, beschränkt auf die aktuelle Selektion. Einfach einen Bereich im aktuellen Dokument selektieren und im Kontextmenü "View Selection Source" wählen.

Man sollte allerdings wissen, dass Selection Source auf Basis des nach dem Parsen des Quelltextes von Mozilla intern angelegten DOM arbeitet und nicht, wie das normale View Source, auf Basis des tatsächlichen Quelltextes einer Seite.

Erweiterungen

Mozilla an sich hat schon nette Features, aber wirklich interessant wird's erst durch Extensions in Form von sog. XPIs, Plattform-übergreifenden Installationsarchiven.
Spricht man von Extensions für Mozilla, muss man eine Site im selben Atemzug erwähnen: MozDev.

Die Bilder bei den folgenden Extensions habe ich von den jeweiligen MozDev-Seiten kopiert; die Rechte daran verbleiben natürlich bei den jeweiligen Inhabern.

MultiZilla

MultiZilla mit OSXZilla
Theme

Wer noch nie was von MultiZilla gehört hat, hat was verpasst. MultiZilla war die erste Tabbed Browsing Extension für die Mozilla Suite und bis heute wohl auch die beste. Mozilla selbst hat viel davon kopiert, aber längst nicht alles (s.u.). Ich selbst bin, glaube ich, seit Version 1.2.x dabei und seitdem treuer Fan. Chefentwickler HJ (netter Zufall: meine Initialen genau anders herum!) leistet klasse Arbeit und machte MultiZilla bislang zum wohl aktivsten MozDev-Projekt üerhaupt.

Für jede erdenkliche Aktion kann separat festgelegt werden, ob sie in einem neuen Tab/Fenster ausgeführt werden soll oder nicht. Außerdem gibt es vieles, was das Arbeiten angenehmer macht: Bereits geschlossene Tabs können wieder geöffnet, bestehende in neue Fenster exportiert oder nach einer einstellbaren Zeit automatisch neu geladen werden. Ganze Tab-Sitzungen können abgespeichert und wieder hergestellt werden. Berechtigungen wie JavaScript, Bilder, Plugins, ... können individuell für jedes Tab vergeben werden. Tabs können automatisch, wiederum nach einer einstellbaren Zeit, durch bloßen Überfahren mit der Maus aktiviert werden. Farbige Icons auf den Tabs zeigen auf Wunsch den Ladestatus der Seite an. Die mittlere Maustaste kann zum Schließen oder Wieder-Öffnen von Tabs konfiguriert werden und natürlich zum Öffnen von Links in neuen Tabs, auf Wunsch im Hintergrund ladend.

Die Buttons nicht nur der MultiZilla-Toolbar selbst, sondern auch von Mozilla, können individuell (de)aktiviert werden. Die Bookmark-Menüs können mit zusätzlichen Optionen ausgestattet werden, z.B. dem Öffnen von ganzen Ordnern in neuen Tabs, ohne dass diese Groupmarks wären. Auch das Löschen sensibler Daten beim Beenden ist möglich. Sämitliche mit JavaScript geöffneten Fenster kann man in Tabs umleiten. Bei geblockten Popups kann man ein Icon auf dem jeweiligen Tab erscheinen lassen.

Das integrierte QuickPrefs-Menü erlaubt außerdem schnellen Zugriff auf Einstellungen wie Cookies, Bilder, Popups, JavaScript, Browser- und Referrer-Spoofing, Cache- und Proxy-Einstellungen sowie sensible Daten. Darüber hinaus können alle installierten Extensions individuell (de)aktiviert werden.

Googlebox

Googlebox

Was für den Internet Explorer die Google Toolbar ist, das ist die Googlebox für MultiZilla. Eingebettet in die MultiZilla-Toolbar kann man damit auch die anderen Google-Suchen wie die nach Bildern oder in News, direkt nutzen. Besonders hilfreich sind die zu den Suchbegriffen erzeugten Buttons, mit denen sich in den Suchtreffern direkt nach selbigen suchen lässt.

MozBlog

MozBlog

Bloggen macht Spaß! Ich selbst betreibe auch einen Weblog. Mit MozBlog geht das sogar direkt aus Mozilla heraus. Neben Blogger werden auch andere gängige Weblog-Services wie Movable Type unterstützt.

Download Status Bar

Download Status Bar

Mal ehrlich, Mozillas Download-Manager ist ja besser als diese nervigen Einzel-Downloadfenster, aber doch nervig, wenn man viele kleinere Dinge wie Bilder herunter laden möchte. Hier schafft die Download Status Bar Abhilfe: Nach dem Deaktivieren der Anzeige des Downloadmanagers erscheinen Downloads nur noch am unteren Fensterrand — schön ordentlich nebeneinander und mit netten Kontextmenüs.

Web Developer Toolbar

Web Developer
Toolbar

Alles was der Web-Entwickler braucht: Deaktivieren und Umranden von Dokumentteilen wie Styles, Bildern, Formularelementen, Tabellen, ..., Anzeige von Informationen, Validierungsmöglichkeiten, Resizing uvm.

MozEx

Wie oft vermisst man schmerzlich die Funktionalität seines Lieblingseditors (bei mir ist das SciTE). In Mozilla muss das nicht sein: Mit MozEx kann man eigene Editoren für bestimmte Links, Textareas oder die Quelltext-Anzeige definieren. Auch andere Programme, wie z.B. für Downloads, News, Mail oder Telnet, ... und sogar selbstdefinierte Schemata wie meinschema:// sind möglich.

Live HTTP Headers

Ein essentielles Web-Entwickler-Werkzeug. Eigentlich so wichtig, dass es Teil der Suite sein sollte: Mit dieser Erweiterung kann man der HTTP-Kommunikation zwischen Client (Mozilla) und Server lauschen und mitprotokollieren. Dabei sieht man ganz schnell, ob etwa der falsche MIME-Type gesendet wurde oder welche zusäztlichen HTTP-Header (gerade in Verbindung mit Skriptsprachen wie PHP und Redirects interessant).

XUL Console

Im Prinzip nur eine kleines Helferlein für geplagte XUL-Freunde: Hiermit kann man mal eben den entpackten Inhalt eines JAR aus einem XPI modifizieren und direkt das Ergebnis betrachten. Die Fehlersuche wird damit z.T. erheblich vereinfacht; besonders, da auch das Mozilla-Chrome direkt zur Verfügung steht.

AdBlock

Der Werbungsblocker schlechthin. Was Mozilla bei Popups schon selbst macht, erledigt AdBlock für den Rest. Egal ob einfaches Bild, IFRAME oder Flash: Durch Angabe von Wildcards in den Bild- und IFRAME-Adressen lassen sich ganze Server und Unterverzeichnisse blocken. Einfach und doch effektiv: Rechtsklick, "AdBlock xy" und kurz die Adresse zurechtstutzen — und schon ist man den Kram los.

mozTrayBiff (f.k.a. Mozilla Free Desktop Integration)

mozTrayBiff

Was das Mozilla-Projekt in vielen Jahren nicht selbst geschafft hat (und auch für Windows erst nach langer Zeit), hat Ilya mit seinem Projekt geschafft: Ein Tray-Icon für neue Mails (Biff). Und das nicht nur für KDE, sondern z.B. auch für XFce oder IceWM. Kleine Einschränkung: Mozilla muss GTK 2 als Toolkit benutzen, was die normalen Nightlies von mozilla.org (noch) nicht tun. Das war übrigens der Hauptgrund für mich, das Toolkit beim Bauen zu wechseln. ;-)

CuteMenus

CuteMenus

Was soll man dazu groß sagen? Bundische Icons überall!

Session Saver

Tab-Sitzungen abspeichern kann MultiZilla auch. Aber Crash Recovery...

Weitere Erweiterungen:

Zur Zeit leider kaputt in Bezug auf aktuelle Suite-Nightlies:

Alte, leider nicht mehr gepflegte Erweiterungen:

Status unbekannt:

Links

 

Valid HTML 4.0!
Jens Hatlak
27. Februar 2004