jens.hatlak.de / About me    
Atari   Mozilla / Mozilla dualboot  
Dreamweaver Manual     Building Mozilla  
Acronyms     Installing Mozilla  
    Bookmark Indicator  
Diese Seite in deutsch Diese Seite
in deutsch
    Custom Buttons  
  MailNews Status Icons  

Mozilla on Dualboot Computers

Mozilla logo On computers with two operating systems (here, for example, Linux and Windows) it is quite natural that sooner or later you want to make mutative data like mail, news and bookmarks usable for both platforms. This is particularly easy with Mozilla since the suite has been designed not only platform independent but also compatible cross platform right from the start.

Mail for example exists in form of the simple mbox format and is thus interchangeable with other Mozilla instances as well as with other Linux clients or even mail servers. In addition, the news server management and bookmark file referencing has been solved the same way as with the mailboxes: cross platform on the file and configuration level. So if you allow the operating systems in question to access the very same files, the problem has almost been solved.

With Windows 98 as secondary OS you are nearly done because Linux is able to access its file system FAT32 both reading and writing. With Windows NT or XP and NTFS it is a bit more tricky since writing on Linux is problematic here — in this case a FAT32 partition should be the solution.

If only the files, like mail and news directory and bookmarks file, have been moved to a FAT32 partition the actual work may begin. In the following, the file prefs.js is of special interest. It resides in the respective Mozilla profile directory:

Operating System Path (without /profile name/random.slt)
Linux ~/.mozilla
Win98/ME C:\Windows\Application Data\Mozilla\Profiles
WinXP C:\Documents and Settings\<User>\Application Data\Mozilla\Profiles

Mail and News

Probably the best place for making the changes to the mail and news settings is directly in Mozilla's MailNews client, or more precisely: under "Edit/Mail & Newsgroups Account Settings..." for each relevant mail/news server as well as for the "Local Folders".
The directories for mail, news and local folders have to be entered for each account under "Server Settings" in the "Local directory" field; for news servers you will additionally have to specify the "newsrc file" which by default has the form *.rc on Windows (on Unix/Linux: newsrc-*).

Mozilla
MailNews server settings

On Windows, you can simply enter the respective paths into the fields or leave them untouched. On Linux, however, you will first have to create "dummy configurations" to make Mozilla know the names and data of the accounts. The easiest should be to first of all create the accounts just like on Windows and only then replace the paths relative to the home directory by ones that are relative to the Windows file system.
Probably the simplest method is to find out the correct directory, respectively, using a shell/console and then copy and paste it into the respective field. After that (and the obligatory Mozilla restart) you can delete the mail/news directories of the respective profile under ~/.mozilla — to be on the safe side, you might initially want to only move/rename it (do not forget to restart Mozilla!).

All information that is not directly depending on the respective data directory like SSL, port, automatic download/deletion etc. is stored in the file prefs.js and thus directly belongs to the Mozilla profile of the respective operating system. On the one hand this implies that these settings have to be set again explicitly on Linux (especially SSL/port), but on the other hand it also means that you can make different settings depending on the operation system .

Another similar possibility is to replace the files and directories of the dummy configurations by symbolic links to the Windows equivalents. I will not describe that in detail; just note that the relevant files reside within the Mozilla profile in the subdirectories Mail (or ImapMail) and News.
The symlink method does by the way also lend itself to other files like user.js (settings as in prefs.js which, however, do not get overwritten by Mozilla), training.dat (spam filter) or discussProfile.rdf (MozBlog settings — if you use it).

Bookmarks

For external bookmarks, you will have to add the following entries into prefs.js (example: Windows):

user_pref("browser.bookmarks.added_static_root", true);
user_pref("browser.bookmarks.file", "C:\\path\\to\\bookmark file\\bookmark.htm");

For Linux, you can analogously replace the double backslashes by simple slashes and C: by the respective mount point of the Windows partition (e.g. /windows/C/).

However, before you can go on you will have to carry out the duty: First of all, you should by all means make a backup of the external bookmarks file. If anything goes wrong (for example if the browser had still been open and thus the contents of the new bookmarks file get overwritten with the ones of the old file) there is at least no loss of data.

Caution: If you are accessing the same data (for bookmarks and mails) on a common FAT32 partition you should be very careful about activating hibernate or suspend to disk on Linux. If you for instance start the computer with Linux after you had hibernated Windows directly before you must by no means access the FAT32 partition! As this is often difficult (at least for me, all other common data are located on the FAT32 partition), you should mind never to boot the computer with the other operating system, respectively, when either one of them is currently suspended to disk...

Roaming

For bookmarks and some more there is an even better possibility called roaming, maybe still known to you from Netscape Communicator (version 4.x). Mozilla 1.8x is the first to bring a new implementation of this technique, but not yet in the installer builds. So if you like to experiment you may download one of the ZIP archives for Windows and try it yourself.

Roaming (Roaming Profiles, actually) means that when you start or quit the suite a list of selected files gets synchronized between the local profile and an arbitrary server. Mozilla in principle supports FTP, HTTP (WebDAV) and HTTPS; the latter is still quite buggy, though. While FTP should work in any case, you will need a roaming extension on the web server for HTTP, e.g. mod_roaming for Apache.

However, I do not want to conceal that the current implementation is quite buggy. The bugs are known (just search Bugzilla for "roaming") but unfortunately the suite does not receive quite as much attention like it was the case some time ago...

The documentation is rather poor, too. In my experience, the easiest and best working way is FTP: just use ftp://ftp.myserver.com/path/to/initially/empty/folder/ as Base URL, add Username and Password and you are done. Since you will be accessing usin username and password, the directory does not have to (and should not) be accessibly via anonymous FTP or WWW.

 

Valid HTML 4.0!
Jens Hatlak
April 17, 2005

jens.hatlak.de / Über mich    
Atari   PHP    
Dreamweaver Manual   Linux    
Akronyme   Mozilla / Mozilla Dualboot  
  SciTE   Mozilla bauen  
This page in English This page
in English
  FASTA-Parser   Mozilla installieren  
Ich spreche...   Bookmark Indicator  
    Custom Buttons  
    MailNews Status Icons  

Do you prefer reading pages in English? This page is also available in English.

Mozilla auf Dualboot-Rechnern

Mozilla Logo Auf Rechnern mit zwei Betriebssystemen (hier als Beispiel Linux und Windows) kommt schnell der Wunsch auf die veränderlichen Daten wie Mail, News und Bookmarks für beide Plattformen benutzbar zu machen. Bei Mozilla ist das besonders gut machbar, da die Suite schon von Anfang an nicht nur plattform-unabhängig, sondern auch plattform-übergreifend kompatibel konzipiert wurde.

Mail z.B. liegt im simplen mbox-Format vor und ist dadurch mit anderen Mozilla-Instanzen genauso wie mit anderen Linux-Clients oder sogar Mailservern austauschbar. Die Newsserver-Verwaltung und Bookmarkdatei-Referenzierung ist außerdem auf Datei- und Konfigurationsebene genauso plattform-übergreifend gleich realisiert wie die Mailboxen. Wenn man also den in Frage kommenden Betriebssystemen die Möglichkeit gibt, auf dieselben Dateien zuzugreifen, ist das Problem schon fast gelöst.

Mit Windows 98 als Zweit-OS ist man fein raus, denn auf dessen Dateisystem FAT32 kann Linux ohne Probleme lesend und schreibend zugreifen. Mit Windows NT bzw. XP und NTFS wird das schon schwieriger, da hier das Schreiben unter Linux ein Problem darstellt — in diesem Fall ist wohl eine FAT32-Partition die Lösung.

Liegen die Daten wie Mail- und Newsordner sowie Bookmarkdatei erst einmal auf so einer FAT32-Partition, kann das eigentliche Spiel beginnen. Von besonderem Interesse ist im Folgenden die Datei prefs.js, die sich im jeweiligen Mozilla-Profile-Verzeichnis befindet:

Betriebssystem Pfad (ohne /Profilname/random.slt)
Linux ~/.mozilla
Win98/ME C:\Windows\Anwendungsdaten\Mozilla\Profiles
WinXP C:\Dokumente und Einstellungen\<Benutzer>\Anwendungsdaten\Mozilla\Profiles

Mail und News

Die Änderungen für Mail und News nimmt man am besten direkt im Mozilla-MailNews-Client vor, genauer: unter "Edit/Mail & Newsgroups Account Settings..." für jeden relevanten Mail-/News-Server sowie für die "Local Folders".
Die Verzeichnisse für Mail, News und lokale Ordner werden für jeden einzelnen Account jeweils unter "Server Settings" im Feld "Local directory" eingetragen; bei News-Servern ist zusätzlich die Angabe des "newsrc file" nötig, das unter Windows die Form *.rc hat (unter Unix/Linux: newsrc-*).

Mozilla
MailNews Server Settings

Unter Windows trägt man in den genannten Feldern einfach den entsprechenden Pfad ein oder lässt ihn, wie er ist. Unter Linux dagegen müssen erst einmal "Dummy-Konfigurationen" angelegt werden, damit Mozilla die Namen und Daten der Accounts kennt. Am einfachsten sollte man also erst einmal genauso wie unter Windows die einzelnen Accounts anlegen und erst dann die zum Home-Verzeichnis relativen Pfade durch zum Windows-Dateisystem relative ersetzen.
Die einfachste Methode dafür dürfte das Ausfindigmachen des jeweils richtigen Verzeichnisses mittels Shell/Konsole und anschließendem Markieren (=Kopieren) und Einfügen ins jeweilige Feld sein. Danach (und obligatorischem Mozilla-Neustart) können dann die Mail/News-Verzeichnisse des jeweiligen Profiles unter ~/.mozilla gelöscht werden — zur Sicherheit sollte man es aber vielleicht erst einmal mit Umbenennen/Verschieben probieren (Mozilla neu starten nicht vergessen!).

Alle nicht vom jeweiligen Datenverzeichnis abhängigen Informationen, wie SSL, Port, automatisches Abrufen/Löschen etc. werden in der Datei prefs.js abgespeichert und gehören damit fest zum Mozilla-Profile unter dem jeweiligen Betriebssystem. Das heißst einerseits, dass diese Einstellungen unter Linux noch einmal explizit gesetzt werden müssen (besonders SSL/Port), andererseits aber auch, dass man hier abhängig vom Betriebssystem unterschiedliche Einstellungen machen kann.

Eine andere, ähnlich gelagerte Möglichkeit besteht darin, die Dateien und Ordner der angelegten Dummy-Konfiguration durch symbolische Links auf die Windows-Pendants zu ersetzen. Darauf gehe ich hier aber nicht näher ein; nur so viel: die relevanten Dateien befinden sich im Mozilla-Profile in den Verzeichnissen Mail (bzw. ImapMail) und News.
Die Symlink-Methode bietet sich übrigens auch bei anderen Dateien an, wie z.B. user.js (Einstellungen wie in prefs.js, die jedoch nicht von Mozilla überschrieben werden), training.dat (Spam-Filter) oder discussProfile.rdf (MozBlog-Einstellungen — wenn man das benutzt).

Bookmarks

Für externe Bookmarks müssen folgende Einträge in die prefs.js hinzugefügt werden (Beispiel: Windows):

user_pref("browser.bookmarks.added_static_root", true);
user_pref("browser.bookmarks.file", "C:\\Pfad\\zur\\Bookmarkdatei\\bookmark.htm");

Analog ersetzt man fü Linux die doppelten Backslashes durch einfache Slashes und ersetzt C: durch den entsprechenden Mountpunkt der Windows-Partition (z.B. /windows/C/).

Vor der Durchführung steht allerdings die Pflicht: Erst einmal sollte auf jeden Fall ein Backup der externen Bookmark-Datei gemacht werden. Wenn etwas schief geht (z.B. der Browser noch offen war und damit die Daten der neuen mit denen der alten Bookmark-Datei überschrieben wird) hat man dann wenigstens keinen Datenverlust.

Achtung: Wenn man dieselben Dateien (für Bookmarks und Mails) auf einer gemeinsamen FAT32-Partition nutzt, sollte man mit dem Aktivieren des Ruhezustands bzw. Suspend to disk unter Linux sehr vorsichtig sein. Startet man den Rechner z.B. mit Linux, nachdem man direkt zuvor Windows in den Ruhezustand geschickt hat, darf man nun auf keinen Fall mehr auf die FAT32-Partition zugreifen! Da das oft schwierig ist (auf der FAT32-Partition sind zumindest bei mir auch alle anderen gemeinsamen Daten), sollte man einfach darauf achten, den Rechner nie mit dem jeweils anderen Betriebssystem zu starten, wenn eines der beiden gerade sein Speicherabbild auf der Platte liegen hat...

Roaming

Für Bookmarks und einiges mehr ist eine fast noch schönere Variante das sogenannte Roaming, einigen vielleicht noch vom Netscape Communicator (Version 4.x) her bekannt. Mozilla 1.8x bringt erstmals eine neue Implementierung dieser Technik mit, allerdings nicht in den Installer-Builds. Wer also ein bißchen experimentierfreudig ist, kann sich z.B. eines der ZIP-Archive für Windows herunter laden und es selbst probieren.

Roaming (eigentlich Roaming Profiles) bedeutet, dass beim Starten und Beenden der Suite eine Liste von auswählbaren Dateien zwischen dem lokalen Profil und einem wählbaren Server synchronisiert wird. Mozilla unterstützt dabei im Prinzip FTP, HTTP (WebDAV) und HTTPS; letzteres allerdings noch fehlerhaft. Während FTP immer funktionieren sollte, braucht man für HTTP eine roaming-Extension auf dem Webserver, z.B. mod_roaming für Apache.

Es soll jedoch nicht verschwiegen werden, dass die derzeitige Implementierung noch recht buggy ist. Die Bugs sind bekannt (einfach in Bugzilla nach "roaming" suchen), aber leider erfährt die Suite nicht mehr ganz die Aufmerksamkeit wie es früher einmal war...

Auch die Dokumentation ist eher dürftig. Meiner Erfahrung nach ist der einfachste und am besten funktionierende Weg FTP: Als Base URL einfach ftp://ftp.meinserver.de/pfad/zu/anfangs/leerem/ordner/, dazu Username und Password und fertig. Da über Benutzername und Passwort zugegriffen wird, muss (und sollte) das Verzeichnis auch nicht über anonymous FTP bzw. WWW erreichbar sein.

 

Valid HTML 4.0!
Jens Hatlak
23. Oktober 2004